Skip to main content

Response to implementation of the Spectrum Pricing Review - consultation 39/2020

This paper responds to the submissions we received through the implementation of the Spectrum Pricing Review process.

Status
Submissions now public
Consultation number
IFC 39/2020
Days remaining 0 of 65 days
Closed
  • 1

    Open for comment

    16 Dec 2020
  • 2

    Consultation closed

    18 Feb 2021
  • 3

    Submissions published

    09 Apr 2021
  • 4

    Outcome (part 1) published

    09 Apr 2021
  • 5

    Outcome (part 2) published

    02 Jun 2021

Key documents

Outcome (part 2) and next steps

First tranche reforms

We have made the first tranche of spectrum pricing review (SPR) reforms. They will come into effect on Monday 12 July 2021.

The reforms include:

  • A reduction of tax rates for services above 5 GHz. This excludes area-wide licences and other licence types not covered by the apparatus licence tax formula.
  • Introduction of a 'systems price' for co-located earth stations authorised under the same licence.
  • Introduction of an additional price discount for ‘micro’ land-mobile services.

After considering submissions to the response paper, we decided to alter the first tranche of reform proposals by further reducing tax rates for services above 5 GHz, as advocated in the submissions. 

For the >5 to 8.5 GHz band, the Authority has reduced tax rates by 50 per cent (instead of 25 per cent). In the >8.5 to 14.5 GHz (‘Ku Band’) frequency range, the Authority has reduced tax rates by 90 per cent (instead of 50 per cent). 

For licensees who have renewals that fall due on or after Monday 12 July 2021, the value of your taxes will reflect the new taxes and may be different from the indicative value shown in your validation notice. Access the Apparatus licence fee schedule, July 2021.

For licensees who may be eligible for the earth station system price, or the ‘micro’ land mobile service discount, please speak with your accredited person.

You can access the amendment determinations and explanatory statements below:

Radiocommunications (Transmitter Licence Tax) Amendment Determination 2021 (No. 2)
Explanatory statement to the Radiocommunications (Transmitter Licence Tax) Amendment Determination 2021 (No. 2)
Radiocommunications (Receiver Licence Tax) Amendment Determination 2021 (No. 2)
Explanatory statement to the Radiocommunications (Receiver Licence Tax) Amendment Determination 2021 (No. 2)

 

Second tranche reforms

We expect to release a consultation paper on a second tranche of SPR reforms later in 2021.

We thank all submitters for their contributions.

Outcome (part 1)

We received 15 submissions from various industry sectors responding to the proposals in the paper. We would like to thank all submitters for their contribution to the consultation.

Most submitters expressed support for the proposals put forward, and some submitters also raised the need for further reforms.

Original consultation: The issue

Spectrum pricing, along with licensing, planning and technical regulation, is a way to manage spectrum for the benefit of all Australians. This paper is part of our Spectrum Pricing Review process, which focuses on implementation of 3 of the 11 recommendations of the Spectrum Pricing Review.

We consulted with stakeholders in March 2020 and invited submissions on our proposed spectrum pricing guidelines and focus areas for our work program.

This new consultation paper is the chance for you to comment on our response to the submissions and our proposed work program of changes to apparatus licence taxes. As part of that work program, the ACMA is proposing reductions for services in frequency ranges above 5 GHz.

Have your say

The ACMA invites comments on the issues set out in this paper.

Make a submission

Use the ‘Upload a submission’ button at the top of this page to send us your views.

Submissions by post can be sent to:

The Manager
Economics Advisory
Australian Communications and Media Authority
PO Box 13112 Law Courts
Melbourne Victoria 8010

Consultation enquiries can be emailed to spectrumpricing@acma.gov.au.

Back to top
ONLINE ENQUIRY