New members appointed to the ACMA's Consumer Consultative Forum | ACMA

New members appointed to the ACMA's Consumer Consultative Forum

CCF jpg

The Australian Communications and Media Authority has appointed five new representatives to its Consumer Consultative Forum (CCF).

‘The CCF is a key element in the ACMA’s consumer engagement strategy,’ said acting ACMA Chairman James Cameron. ‘It has been structured to provide an opportunity for consumer representatives to raise issues and suggest solutions with senior representatives of industry, regulators and government policy makers.’

The new appointments are:

  • Dorothy Coombe (Country Women’s Association of Australia)
  • Jenny Lovric (Legal Aid NSW)
  • Nadia Moffatt (Brain Injury SA)
  • Erin Turner (CHOICE)
  • Jo Ucukalo (Two Hoots and Handle My Complaint).

The Australian Communications Consumer Action Network has also been appointed as a standing consumer representative and will be represented at meetings by its CEO, Teresa Corbin. The new appointees are also joined by the continuing members, George Fong (Internet Australia) and Daniel Featherstone (Indigenous Remote Communications Association and Broadband for the Bush).

‘Our new representatives will bring many years of experience representing consumers, and some new perspectives to the Forum,’ Mr Cameron said. ‘The new appointments will strengthen the CCF’s ability to focus on a broad range of issues including those faced by consumers with a disability and low-income, regional, remote and Indigenous communities.

‘I would also like to thank our departing CCF members—Julian Thomas of Swinburne University, Stella Avramopoulos of Kildonan UnitingCare, Chris Jeffery of Council for the Aging WA and Catriona Lowe of the Consumers Federation of Australia—who have each made a very valuable contribution to the work of the CCF.’

The CCF is chaired by Mr Cameron. It meets twice a year, and consumer representatives attend teleconferences every three to four months in addition to the two face-to-face meetings. It will next meet on 17 June.

For more information see Backgrounder below or to arrange an interview, please contact: Blake Murdoch, on (02) 9334 7817, 0434 567 391 or

Media release 19/2016 - 13 April

The CCF assists the ACMA to perform its functions in relation to matters affecting consumers about communications issues. It is established under section 59 of the Australian Communications and Media Authority Act 2005.

Its aims are to:

provide a forum to engage demand-side and supply-side interests on communications consumer issues

ensure that the ACMA has access to representative perspectives on issues affecting consumers

position the interests of systematically disadvantaged consumers within the context of overall consumer interests.

The appointments have been made to replace consumer representatives as appointments expire and will increase consumer representation by one. All appointments are for a two-year term, with the exception of the standing appointment of ACCAN.

Information on the new appointees is below:

  • Dorothy Coombe is the National President of the Country Women’s Association of Australia. The CWA has 25,000 members across Australia, including regional and remote locations.
  • Jenny Lovric is the Program Manager for Legal Aid NSW’s Cooperative Legal Service Delivery Program, running eleven partnerships across regional and remote NSW, providing a service to low-income consumers.
  • Nadia Moffatt is a director of Brain Injury SA, the peak body for people with an acquired brain injury in South Australia.
  • Erin Turner is the Campaigns Manager at CHOICE, Australia’s largest independent consumer advocacy organisation, consisting of 170,000 members.
  • Jo Ucukalo is the founder of Two Hoots and Handle My Complaint, providing an alternative complaints resolution service across several sectors including telecommunications.

Details of the most recent CCF meeting, held 13 November 2015, are available here.

Last updated: 13 April 2016