Emergency details | ACMA


17 December, 2014 11:59 AM


Emergency details

By Editor

acma_emergency cupcake2 jpg

No one wants to be involved in an emergency, but life can sometimes take the wrong turn. In these times, the address information that your telco provider has for you can be critical for emergency services. Our new infographic shows how ensuring that your details are correct can help us help you.

acma_emergency-graphic_600x600stillimage jpg

Download a printable version of the infographic.

Download an accessible Word version of the infographic.

Your telco is required by law to provide your address to the Integrated Public Number Database (IPND). The IPND is only accessible for very limited purposes such as responding to emergency situations. When you call Triple Zero, the address details that are stored in the IPND will automatically appear on the operator’s screen and be passed on to the emergency service organisation you request (Police, Fire or Ambulance), so it’s important to make sure they’re up-to-date and accurate.

Since 2009, Emergency Alert has also used information sourced from the IPND to send alert messages to nearly 2.5 million landlines and 6.3 million mobile phones. Depending on the nature of the emergency, text messages may be sent based on the last-known location of handsets at the time of the emergency (including visitors and people travelling in the area), or to all handsets in an area based on registered service addresses using IPND information (all people who have a service registered in the area, but may also be elsewhere at the time; for example, at work). If the address information you’ve provided about your mobile to your telco provider is not accurate, you may not receive a service address-based warning.

To take advantage of the latest technology, a national working group of emergency services, government and industry partners has also developed the Emergency+ app, released in December 2013. Emergency+ allows smartphone users to call an emergency service appropriate to the event (for example, Police, Fire, Ambulance, SES, Police Hotline). The app provides street address information and GPS coordinates that can be read out to the emergency service operator.

All of these services may come in handy if something goes wrong, so make sure you confirm your address details with your telco provider today.