Organisational structure | ACMA

Organisational structure

Current February 2018

The Australian Communications and Media Authority (the ACMA) is Australia's regulator for broadcasting, the internet, radiocommunications and telecommunications. It was formed on 1 July 2005 with the merger of the former Australian Communications Authority (ACA) and Australian Broadcasting Authority (ABA). The ACMA has offices in Canberra, Melbourne and Sydney and employs around 380 staff.

The ACMA's day-to-day activities are managed by an executive team comprising the Chair, the Deputy Chair, two Part-time Members, four General Managers and ten Executive Managers.

The General Managers are responsible for four broad areas:

  • Communications Infrastructure

  • Content, Consumer and Citizen

  • Corporate and Research 

  • Legal Services.

The areas are further divided into branches and sections with specific business functions.

More detailed information is available in the chart of the ACMA's organisational structure:

Download a text version of the organisational structure.

Last updated: 04 March 2018