Emergency Call Service Advisory Committee | ACMA

Emergency Call Service Advisory Committee

Since 2000, the ACMA has maintained an emergency services advisory committee to assist the ACMA in performing its telecommunications functions in relation to the emergency call service. Membership of the Emergency Call Service Advisory Committee (ECSAC) is comprised of representatives from government, consumer groups, emergency service organisations, carriers, carriage service providers and the emergency call persons.

ECSAC provides advice to the ACMA on a range of operational, performance and priority matters relating to the emergency call service and provides a forum for the exchange of views and discussion.

Terms of reference

The terms of reference for ECSAC reflects the ACMA’s primary statutory functions in relation to delivery of the emergency call services and establishes the committee as a forum for emergency call service stakeholders.

The Committee advises the ACMA on:

    > issues that relate to the ACMA’s performance of its telecommunications functions as set out in section 8 of the Australian Communications and Media Authority Act 2005 in relation to emergency call services; 
    > regulation of the provision of emergency call services, particularly in relation to the objectives in subsection 147(2) of the Telecommunications (Consumer Protection and Service Standards) Act 1999
    > monitoring the performance of emergency call persons, carriers and carriage service providers regarding obligations imposed under the Telecommunications (Emergency Call Service) Determination 2009 pursuant to subsection 147(1) of the Telecommunications (Consumer Protection and Service Standards) Act 1999; 
    > improving the operational effectiveness of emergency call services; 
    > promotion of the coordinated development of emergency call services functions of telecommunications networks; and
methods to advise public and industry forums about emergency call services.

ECSAC is established under section 58 of the Australian Communications and Media Authority Act.

Last updated: 14 April 2016