Device compliance levels | ACMA

Device compliance levels

The EMC regulatory arrangements impose compliance labelling and record-keeping requirements for the supply of products that are capable of incidental emissions. These requirements are divided into three compliance (or evidence) levels.

All products subject to the EMC regulatory arrangements must comply with an applicable EMC technical standard.

The required level of documentary evidence (to demonstrate compliance with the regulatory arrangements) depends on the risk of interference that may be expected from the product. The higher the risk of interference presented by a non-compliant product, the higher the level of documentary evidence required.

EMC compliance level requirements

Compliance level 1 / low-risk device

A low-risk device is a device that is not a medium-risk device or a high-risk device. Low-risk devices may include: battery-powered LED torches, battery-powered pocket calculators, battery-powered clocks, wrist watches and battery-powered toys. A battery-powered device is a device that is not capable of being connected, directly or indirectly, to an external power supply (refer to the Battery-Powered Devices page for further information).

Low-risk devices must comply with an applicable technical standard. However, the evidence a supplier may rely on to demonstrate compliance is at the supplier's discretion. A supplier of a low-risk device that is compliant with an applicable technical standard is only required to hold a description of the device. A supplier is not required to label the product or maintain a Declaration of Conformity (DoC). However, a supplier must maintain a DoC if they do choose to label the device.

Compliance level 2 / medium-risk device

A medium-risk device is a device that is not a high-risk device and contains one or more of the following:

  • a switch mode power supply
  • a transistor switching circuit
  • a microprocessor
  • a commutator
  • a slip-ring motor
  • an electronic device operating in a switching or non-linear mode.

Medium-risk devices include: televisions, laptops, computers, video game consoles, stereo equipment, DVD players/recorders, mobile phone chargers, printers, compact fluorescent lamps and electronic ballasts. Devices that meet the definition of a battery-powered device are NOT medium-risk devices unless the ACMA has declared the device to be a medium-risk device.

In addition to compliance with an applicable technical standard, the ACMA requires suppliers of medium-risk devices to label the device and hold the following documentary evidence:

  • test report or technical construction file (TCF) showing the device complies with an applicable technical standard
  • declaration of conformity
  • description of the device.

Compliance level 3 / high-risk device

A high-risk device is a device described as 'Group 2 ISM equipment' in AS/NZS CISPR 11 or it's European equivalent, EN 55011 and CISPR 11 . Group 2 contains all ISM equipment in which radiofrequency energy is intentionally generated and/or used in the form of electromagnetic radiation for the treatment of material, and EDM (electro-discharge machining) and arc welding equipment.

Group 2 equipment (taken from Annex A of AS/NZS CISPR 11) includes:

  • Induction heating equipment
  • Induction cookers
  • Microwave ovens
  • Arc welding equipment
  • Spot welders
  • RF Welding equipment.

The documentary evidence requirements for high-risk devices are the same as medium-risk devices except the test report must be produced from an accredited testing body.  

More information

Further information about the EMC regulatory arrangements is available. Alternatively, contact the ACMA's Customer Service Centre on 1300 850 115 or email

Last updated: 06 February 2019