The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Telecommunications Working Group Mutual Recognition Arrangement (APECTEL MRA) is a multilateral agreement between Asia Pacific economies. It provides for the mutual recognition of Conformity Assessment Bodies (CABs) and mutual acceptance of the results of testing and equipment certification procedures undertaken by those bodies in assessing conformity of equipment to the importing economy's own technical regulations.

The APECTEL MRA streamlines conformity assessment procedures for a wide range of telecommunications and telecommunications-related equipment, and facilitates trade among the APEC member economies. The APECTEL MRA provides benefits to manufacturers, CABs, regulators and consumers.

The ACMA administers the Australian input to the APECTEL MRA and ensures the procedures established under the MRA are in agreement with Australian regulatory requirements. The ACMA is responsible for development and implementation of compliance regimes for telecommunications customer equipment, radiocommunications devices, electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) and electromagnetic energy (EME), all of which can be affected by the APECTEL MRA.


APEC has 21 members. The word 'economies' is used to describe APEC members because the APEC cooperative process is predominantly concerned with trade and economic issues, with members engaging with one another as economic entities.

Individual economy reports, key economic statistics and links to economy websites can be found on the APEC website.

Annex 1List of technical regulations for Australia

The technical regulations designated by the ACMA on behalf of Australia under Phase I of the APECTEL MRA on Conformity Assessment are applicable to equipment subject to telecommunication regulations as specified in the scope of the APECTEL MRA. The ACMA's regulations below are divided into four regulatory regimes—telecommunications, radiocommunications, EMC and EME.

Note: Australia does not participate in Phase II of the APECTEL MRA on Conformity Assessment, as the ACMA does not require certification or approval under its regulatory arrangements.


The ACMA's technical requirements for telecommunications customer equipment and customer cabling are listed on the Telecommunications standards page.


The ACMA's technical requirements for radiocommunications devices are listed on the Radiocommunications standards page.

Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC)

The ACMA's recognition of conformity assessment bodies for the purposes of EMC under the APECTEL MRA only extends to those bodies testing to EMC standards that are directly relevant to telecommunications equipment and appear in the list of ACMA-mandated EMC standards.  Currently the relevant recognised standards are those mandated standards listed at Serial 3, Serial 8Serial 8A and Serial 56 on Part 2 of the EMC standards page.

Important Notes:

(1) Manufacturers and importers must use accredited test reports for equipment deemed by AS/NZS CISPR 11 to be ISM Group 2 supplied into Australia.  This is the only standard for which there are accredited testing requirements under the ACMA EMC regulatory arrangements.

(2) The 900 MHz ISM band within Australia is 915–928 MHz. 900 MHz ISM devices working outside of this range cannot be operated in Australia (that is, ISM devices that use the frequencies 902–915 MHz are not authorised for use within Australia).    

(3) Using the frequency range 902–915 MHz would interfere with Australian mobile telephone networks. Severe criminal penalties, including fines of up to $255,000, exist under the Radiocommunications Act 1992 for interfering with radiocommunications services.

Electromagnetic Energy (EME)

The ACMA has included EME testing under Phase 1 of the APECTEL MRA for telecommunications equipment from 1 January 2014. 

The ACMA's technical requirements for EME relevant to telecommunications equipment as specified in the scope of the APECTEL MRA include certain mobile and portable radiocommunications transmitters supplied with an integral antenna. These devices must operate on a frequency between 100 kHz and 300 GHz.

Equipment must comply with the Radiocommunications (Electromagnetic Radiation - Human Exposure) Standard 2014 (the Human Exposure Standard). Testing must be conducted in accordance with the methodologies prescribed in the Human Exposure Standard and the limits defined by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) in the Radiation Protection Standard for Maximum Exposure Levels to Radiofrequency Fields – 3kHz to 300 GHz (2002) (the ARPANSA Standard).   

See Conformity Assessment Bodies for a list of accredited overseas and Australian CABs.

Last updated: 07 August 2017