Satellite frequency bands | ACMA

Satellite frequency bands

This page lists the planned spectrum frequency bands set aside by the Australian Communications and Media Authority for use by satellites in Australian space.

Planned frequency bands

The Broadcasting Satellite Service Plan (BSS)

This plan, set out in Appendices 30 and 30A of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Radio Regulations, establishes arrangements for operation in the following bands:

  1. 11.7 to 12.5 GHz (space to Earth) Region 1

  2. 12.2 to 12.7 GHz (space to Earth) Region 2

  3. 11.7 to 12.2 GHz (space to Earth) Region 3 (the region in which Australia is located)

  4. 14.5 to 14.8 GHz in Regions 1 and 3

  5. 17.3 to 18.1 GHz (Earth to space) Regions 1 and 3

  6. 17.3 to 17.8 GHz (Earth to space) Region 2.

The Fixed Satellite Service Allotment Plan (FSS)

Appendix 30B of the ITU Radio Regulations establishes arrangements for operation in the following bands:

  1. 4.5 to 4.8 GHz (space to Earth)

  2. 6.725 to 7.025 GHz (Earth to space)

  3. 10.7 to 10.95 GHz (space to Earth)

  4. 11.2. to 11. 45 GHz (space to Earth)

  5. 12.75 to 13.25 GHz (Earth to space).

Changes to the BSS or FSS Plans

Coordination is not required for existing satellite networks or new satellite networks operating within the planned satellite bands. All other satellite bands are unplanned and therefore, proposed networks or networks requiring modification have to go through a process of coordination and notification with the ITU.

Unplanned frequency bands

For the complete table of frequency allocations, including all relevant footnotes, see the Australian Radiofrequency Spectrum Plan.

Last updated: 08 November 2017