Allocation summary—27 GHz—2012 | ACMA

Allocation summary—27 GHz—2012




Allocation date

15 May 2012

Licence end date

17 January 2016

On this page

  • Overview
  • Spectrum details
  • Allocation results
  • Background

On other pages

Spectrum details

Band details

26.5–27.5 GHz

style="width: 25%">

Licence types

Spectrum licences

Previous use


Licence period

15 May 2012-17 Jan 2016

Allocation results



How sold



NBN Co Limited



Central Qld
Regional NSW
South Coast



The lots that were on offer are residual lots following the first round of allocations that took place in November 2000.

The spectrum licences were available in 9 locations (Perth, Northern Territory, Cairns, Townsville, Rockhampton, Sunshine Coast, Central Queensland, Northern NSW, Regional NSW, Regional Victoria, South Coast NSW and Tasmania). Allocation of these spectrum licences were available through two different allocation methods. Lots for which there was more than one applicant were to be auctioned using an open ascending bid auction (also known as 'English outcry' auction). Lots for which there was only one applicant were to be allocated at a pre-determined price (OTC).

NBN Co Limited, the only applicant for the available licences. The ACMA offered NBN Co Limited the opportunity to acquire the licences for their pre-determined prices. NBN Co Ltd subsequently confirmed its interest in licences for Perth, Central QLD, Regional NSW, South Coast and Tasmania and licences were allocated for a pre-determined price for each location.

The ACMA may consider offering the licences in the remaining locations (Northern Territory, Cairns, Townsville, Rockhampton, Sunshine Coast, Northern NSW and Regional Victoria) at a future date.

Last updated: 13 March 2019