Licence types | ACMA

Licence types

Under the apparatus licence system, there are 16 transmitter licence types and five receiver licence types, which have been based on definitions in the Australian Radiofrequency Spectrum Plan, drawn from definitions used by the International Telecommunication Union.

Licence types are defined in the Radiocommunications (Transmitter and Receiver Licences) Determination. The terms used in this determination are defined in the Radiocommunications (Interpretation) Determination 2000 and the Radiocommunications Regulations 1993.

To facilitate the development and implementation of appropriate licensing procedures—including the application of licence conditions and fees—different kinds of radiocommunications applications are separately identified within the various licence types as individual licensing options usually related to kinds of services or stations or uses.

Features of the apparatus licensing system include:

  1. broad apparatus licence categories

  2. an equitable and transparent approach to apparatus licence fees

  3. apparatus licence terms of up to five years, in conjunction with a licensing system which gives payment options for licence fees

  4. the option, for apparatus licensees who seek terms for longer than one year, of paying the total amount of the licence fee at the time the licence is issued or by annual instalments

  5. transfer of an apparatus licence between parties

  6. the application of licence tax exemptions and concessions that are available to individuals and organisations providing emergency or safety of human life functions.

List of licence types

Licence types

Licensing options under the apparatus licence types

Transmitter licences

1. Aeronautical

Aeronautical assigned system

2. Aircraft

Aircraft assigned

3. Amateur

AdvancedStandardFoundationAmateur beaconAmateur repeater

4. Broadcasting

Broadcast service stationHF domestic service stationHF overseas service stationHF overseas (IBL) service stationNarrowband area service stationNarrowcasting service station (including low power open narrowcasting (LPON))

5. Datacasting


6. Defence


7. Earth

Fixed earth Mobile earth

8. Fixed

Point to pointPoint to point (5.8 GHz band)Point to point (self-coordinated) stations900 MHz studio to transmitter linkPoint to multipointPoint to multipoint systemSound outside broadcastTelevision outside broadcastTelevision outside broadcast networkTelevision outside broadcast systemTemporary fixed link

9. Land mobile

Ambulatory stationAmbulatory systemPaging systemCBRS repeaterLand mobile systemPABX cordless telephone service

10. Maritime coast

Major coast AMajor coast BLimited coast Non AssignedLimited coast AssignedLimited coast marine rescue

11. Maritime ship

Ship station Class B AssignedShip station Class B Non AssignedShip station Class C AssignedShip station Class C Non Assigned

12. Outpost

Outpost AssignedOutpost Non Assigned

13. PTS[PublicTelecommunicationsService]

PMTS [public mobile telecommunications service] Class BPMTS [public mobile telecommunications service] Class C

14. Radiodetermination


15. Scientific

Scientific AssignedScientific Non Assigned

16. Space

SpaceSpace Non Geostationary Orbit (NGSO) satellite system operating in a frequency band above 8.5 GHz

Receiver licences

17. Defence receiver

Defence receive

18. Earth receiver

Earth receive

19. Fixed receiver

Fixed receive

20. Major coast receiver

Major coast receive

21. Space receive

Space receive Space receive Non Geostationary Orbit (NGSO) satellite system operating in a frequency band above 8.5 GHz

Last updated: 17 December 2012