Apparatus licensing overview | ACMA

Apparatus licensing overview

Links to general information

Links to licence information

Under the apparatus licence system, there are 16 transmitter licence types and 5 receiver licence types. In order to facilitate the development and implementation of appropriate licensing procedures, including the application of licence conditions and fees, different kinds of radiocommunications applications are separately identified, within the various licence types, as individual licensing options usually related to kinds of services or stations or uses.

To bring a consistent approach to spectrum management, licence types have been based on definitions in the Australian Radiofrequency Spectrum Plan, which are drawn from definitions used by the International Telecommunication Union. Licence types are defined in the Radiocommunications (Interpretation) Determination 2015.

Licence fees

Apparatus licence fees are designed to recover the ACMA's costs in managing the radiofrequency spectrum and to provide a return to government for use of the spectrum resource.

Find out more about licence fees.

Last updated: 16 April 2019