Authority members

Mr Richard Bean, Acting Chair

Appointed 14 October 2010 for five years

Re-appointed till 13 October 2017

richard_bean jpg

Richard Bean commenced as Acting Chair and CEO of the Australian Communications and Media Authority in February 2016. During his career, Richard has worked in a variety of senior roles in Australia’s media and communications industries.

Before joining the ACMA, he oversaw the legal, regulatory affairs and human resources functions at wireless broadband infrastructure owner and ISP Unwired.

He had previously held positions responsible for the legal and business affairs side of Network Ten's programming activities, and practised as a commercial, media and litigation lawyer at national commercial law firm Blake Dawson Waldron (now Ashurst). Before that, Richard worked in program administration and policy development in a number of Australian Government organisations.

Richard holds an Honours degree in Literature and Philosophy from the University of Sydney and a law degree from the University of New South Wales.

Mr James Cameron, Acting Deputy Chair

Appointed 5 August 2013 for five years as Part-time member

Appointed 9 July 2015 to 4 August 2018 as Full-time member

JamesCameron jpg

James Cameron has over 20 years Australian Government public policy experience, including senior executive roles in the telecommunications, radiocommunications, broadcasting and digital economy fields. James has held executive positions managing government policies and programs supporting Australia’s arts and sports sectors and, immediately prior to joining the ACMA, was Chief Executive Officer of the National Water Commission.

James has also represented government agencies in Parliament, in the media, at conferences and internationally.

Mrs Rosemary Sinclair, Part-time Member

Appointed 5 August 2013 for five years

RosemarySinclair jpg

Rosemary Sinclair is CEO of Energy Consumers Australia, a company established by COAG Energy Ministers. Rosemary was a Member of the Telecommunications Universal Service Management Agency and Chair of the Regional Telecommunications Inquiry 2011-2012. Rosemary was CEO of the Australian Telecommunications Users Group and Director of Strategic Development at the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. 

Ms Anita Jacoby, Part-time Member

Appointed 5 August 2013 for five years

AnitaJacoby jpg

Anita Jacoby is one of Australia’s most experienced media professionals. In a career spanning 30 years, she’s worked as a journalist and editor in print and publishing, and produced TV programs for every major network. For 10 years Anita was an executive with Zapruder’s other films, an independent TV production company creating original content including Gruen Planet and Enough Rope.

Anita is currently a director of Headspace and the Arts Law Centre of Australia.


Mr Rod Sims, Associate Member

Appointed 1 August 2011 for five years

rod_sims jpg

Rod Sims was appointed Chairman of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) in August 2011 for a five-year term.

Rod has extensive business and public sector experience. Prior to his appointment to the ACCC, he was the Chairman of the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal of New South Wales, Chairman of InfraCo Asia, Commissioner on the National Competition Council, Director of Ingeus Limited, and member of the Research and Policy Council of the Committee for Economic Development of Australia. Rod was also a Director of Port Jackson's Partners Limited where he advised the CEOs and Boards of some of Australia's top 50 companies on commercial corporate strategy over many years.

During the late 1980s and early 1990s, Rod worked as the Deputy Secretary in the Commonwealth Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet responsible for economic, infrastructure and social policy and the Cabinet Office. He also worked as Deputy Secretary in the Department of Transport and Communications.

Rod Sims holds a first-class Honours degree in Commerce from the University of Melbourne and a Master of Economics from the Australian National University.

To contact an Authority member, please contact the Authority secretariat.

Last updated: 26 February 2016

Most commented

Most read

Back to top